Posted by Jeff Layman on September 1, 2010, 11:13 am
>>
>>>
>>>>I just received an e-mail purporting to come from Virgin.net asking me
>>>> to update my account details as they were having difficulty processing
>>>> my payments.
>>>>
>>>> This was not from Virgin.net. It was a scam. I've had one of these in
>>>> the past, and recognised the format.
>>>>
>>>> Be on your guard!
>>>
>>> I had one of those and I really did think it was from Virgin, I was so
>>> incensed that I sent copy to support@virgin, telling them to sack the
>>> person responsible, they came back with the same as you have said, it
>>> was a scam!
>>>
>>> Just out of interest I did tryo to go to the web site they wanted you
>>> to, but it has been closed down.
>>
>>No, it's still there.. I suggest you try again...
>>
> I wouldn't! I'd avoid it like the plague!
Next time I'll check what posting I am replying to! :-(
I thought it was the hoax-slayer site which couldn't be reached.
--
Jeff
Posted by alan.holmes on September 1, 2010, 5:46 pm
>>
>>>
>>>>I just received an e-mail purporting to come from Virgin.net asking me
>>>> to update my account details as they were having difficulty processing
>>>> my payments.
>>>>
>>>> This was not from Virgin.net. It was a scam. I've had one of these in
>>>> the past, and recognised the format.
>>>>
>>>> Be on your guard!
>>>
>>> I had one of those and I really did think it was from Virgin, I was so
>>> incensed that I sent copy to support@virgin, telling them to sack the
>>> person responsible, they came back with the same as you have said, it
>>> was a scam!
>>>
>>> Just out of interest I did tryo to go to the web site they wanted you
>>> to, but it has been closed down.
>>
>>No, it's still there.. I suggest you try again...
>>
> I wouldn't! I'd avoid it like the plague!
What I thought I would do is to put lots of false information on the site,
just to bugger them up!
Alan
> --
> Gordon H
> Remove "invalid" to reply
>
Posted by Sacha on September 1, 2010, 6:08 pm
>
>>>
>>>>
>>>>> I just received an e-mail purporting to come from Virgin.net asking me
>>>>> to update my account details as they were having difficulty processing
>>>>> my payments.
>>>>>
>>>>> This was not from Virgin.net. It was a scam. I've had one of these in
>>>>> the past, and recognised the format.
>>>>>
>>>>> Be on your guard!
>>>>
>>>> I had one of those and I really did think it was from Virgin, I was so
>>>> incensed that I sent copy to support@virgin, telling them to sack the
>>>> person responsible, they came back with the same as you have said, it
>>>> was a scam!
>>>>
>>>> Just out of interest I did tryo to go to the web site they wanted you
>>>> to, but it has been closed down.
>>>
>>> No, it's still there.. I suggest you try again...
>>>
>> I wouldn't! I'd avoid it like the plague!
>
> What I thought I would do is to put lots of false information on the site,
> just to bugger them up!
>
> Alan
If you go to their site and use it, there is a danger that you will be
inviting them into your computer where they will be able to follow your
keystrokes and learn your passwords. Do not open the site. Delete it.
--
Sacha
www.hillhousenursery.com
South Devon
Posted by Sacha on August 31, 2010, 5:46 pm
>
>> I just received an e-mail purporting to come from Virgin.net asking me
>> to update my account details as they were having difficulty processing
>> my payments.
>>
>> This was not from Virgin.net. It was a scam. I've had one of these in
>> the past, and recognised the format.
>>
>> Be on your guard!
>
> I had one of those and I really did think it was from Virgin, I was so
> incensed that I sent copy to support@virgin, telling them to sack the
> person responsible, they came back with the same as you have said, it was a
> scam!
>
> Just out of interest I did tryo to go to the web site they wanted you to,
> but it has been closed down.
>
> Alan
Whatever you do, do NOT go to the site you're asked to click on by the
phisher. Report suspect emails to the genuine site and delete the
suspect one immediately.
--
Sacha
www.hillhousenursery.com
South Devon
>>>
>>>>I just received an e-mail purporting to come from Virgin.net asking me
>>>> to update my account details as they were having difficulty processing
>>>> my payments.
>>>>
>>>> This was not from Virgin.net. It was a scam. I've had one of these in
>>>> the past, and recognised the format.
>>>>
>>>> Be on your guard!
>>>
>>> I had one of those and I really did think it was from Virgin, I was so
>>> incensed that I sent copy to support@virgin, telling them to sack the
>>> person responsible, they came back with the same as you have said, it
>>> was a scam!
>>>
>>> Just out of interest I did tryo to go to the web site they wanted you
>>> to, but it has been closed down.
>>
>>No, it's still there.. I suggest you try again...
>>
> I wouldn't! I'd avoid it like the plague!