Can anyone identify this plant?

register ::  Login Password  :: Lost Password?
Posted by harpo99 on August 31, 2010, 2:49 am
 
please rate
this thread



I was given this plant recently but do not know what it is.

It has thick succulent-type leaves. I would like to put it in my rockery
here in
Greece. Is this likely to be an annual?

Any help in identifying this plant would be much appreciated.


+-------------------------------------------------------------------+
|Filename:
plant 01.jpg                                             |
|Download:
http://www.gardenbanter.co.uk/attachment.php?attachmentid 383|
|Filename:
plant 02.jpg                                             |
|Download:
http://www.gardenbanter.co.uk/attachment.php?attachmentid 384|
|Filename:
plant 05.jpg                                             |
|Download:
http://www.gardenbanter.co.uk/attachment.php?attachmentid 385|
|Filename:
plant 06.jpg                                             |
|Download:
http://www.gardenbanter.co.uk/attachment.php?attachmentid 386|
+-------------------------------------------------------------------+



--
harpo99


Posted by Pat Kiewicz on August 31, 2010, 7:12 am
 

harpo99 said:

I looked at the first couple of photos (ignoring stern warnings that
gardenbanter.co.uk has been reported as a suspicious site to do so).

This looks to be Portulaca grandiflora, an annual, but one that
reseeds quite readily, where it is happy.  

--
Pat in Plymouth MI
    
"Vegetables are like bombs packed tight with all kinds of important
nutrients..."     --Largo Potter, Valkyria  Chronicles
 
email valid but not regularly monitored
  


Posted by John McGaw on August 31, 2010, 9:11 am
 

On 8/31/2010 2:49 AM, harpo99 wrote:

As Pat wrote, you picked a very poor place to post your pictures and I'd
suggest that you find a more legitimate host. To quote:

What is the current listing status for www.gardenbanter.co.uk?

     Site is listed as suspicious - visiting this web site may harm your
computer.

     Part of this site was listed for suspicious activity 1 time(s) over
the past 90 days.

What happened when Google visited this site?

     Of the 40 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 4 page(s)
resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user
consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2010-08-31, and the
last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 2010-08-31.

     Malicious software includes 4 scripting exploit(s), 4 trojan(s), 4
exploit(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 6 new
process(es) on the target machine.

     Malicious software is hosted on 3 domain(s), including
servicescode.in/, frlabs.in/, imrays.in/.

     1 domain(s) appear to be functioning as intermediaries for
distributing malware to visitors of this site, including delecatos.co.cc/.

     This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS8560 (SCHLUND).

Posted by <balvenieman on August 31, 2010, 1:33 pm
 




    Unfortunately, those most likely to need the warnings are the least likely
to understand and/or heed them. That UK site is one of those that usurps
"usenet" newsgroups and presents them as their own "forums". I guess that's the
way the story goes....
--
the Balvenieman
USDA zone 9a/b, peninsular Florida, U.S.A.

This Thread
Bookmark this thread:
 
 
 
 
 
 
  •  
  • Subject
  • Author
  • Date